X

Presentation

A federation of committed artists

The Grands Formats federation was born in 2003 on the initiative of several jazz and improvised music conductors. Its foundation was meant as a manifesto, and its members still firmly claim it : big band music deserves complete acknowledgment and support, it is a unique form of art in which the liberty and creativity of each individual can be expressed fully and collectively.

Big bands and artist collectives are remarkable tools for creation ; strong with precious artistic heritage and history, they are nowadays experiencing rich and varied developments. They are places where life, ideas and knowledge are encouraged, confronted and passed on. In their relationship to art and to the world, they carry risk taking and imagination.

The federation presently comprises 90 members, be they professional big bands or artist collectives, French or European, which are representative of the extraordinary diversity found in jazz and improvised music. They are usually organized as their own production structure, thus guaranteeing their autonomy and artistic freedom. They produce their own performances, but also engage in multiple activities: creation and research residencies, concerts, education and cultural activities for all audiences, recordings, the organization of festivals…

In total, more than 1200 musicians, driven by an irresistible desire for music, are united to defend the existence and sustainability of big band music and to offer all audiences an exceptional experience !

Grands Formats is a place for solidarity and passing on knowledge, for debate and political construction as well as a tool for observation. The federation proactively partakes in public debates regarding the role of live music, be it on a local, national or international scale.

Surnatural Orchestra
— Vivez l'expérience de la musique en grand !

The missions of the federation are based on the following four axes :

  • Raise awareness and boost the circulation of music played in large ensembles by organizing professional events, forming partnerships and implementing a 360° communication strategy,
  • Bring the inner workings of the jazz and improvised music industry to light, as well as the issues artists and their teams encounter, by conducting regular surveys and studies,
  • Support the professional integration of young musicians by developing student programs,
  • Form a collegial body, representative of its artists, to participate in the structuring of the musical industry in all its diversity.

Board members

President : Frédéric Pallem
Vice-President : Alexandre Herer
Treasurer : Tifenn Ezanno
Secretary : Arnaud Fièvre
Administrators : Pierre Bertrand, Gary Brunton, Sylvain Cathala, Pascal Charrier, Laurent Dehors, Camille Durand, Grégoire Letouvet, Frédéric Maurin, Christophe Rocher, Marie-Edith Roussillon, Alfred Vilayleck

Assemblée générale 2018
Grand Ensemble Koa à la Rentrée Grands Formats 2019

" The number and variety of ensembles which constitute Grands Formats today reflect the vitality of contemporary jazz and the creativity of artists who dare to think big for their music. "Renaud Baillet, programmer for the Petit Faucheux, Tours (France)

" Many battles are yet to be fought, and I am glad that the Grands Formats federation is here to fight them, alone or with others, in the jazz and improvised music field. I can mention many examples: the role of women in the industry, the programming of jazz in multidisciplinary, public theatres, the access to public funding for big bands, the economic sustainability of companies enrolled in the field… "Philippe Gauthier, president of the Structuration and professional development commission for CNM (National Centre for Music - France)

" Grands Formats enables us to collectively make our voices heard, and to defend a way of making music that diverges from that imposed by the mainstream industry steamroller. "Frédéric Maurin, artistic director of the National Jazz Orchestra (France)

AG © Grands Formats – Surnatural Orchestra © Ludovic Laude – AG © Grands Formats – Grand Ensemble KOA © Bruce Milpied

SUIVEZ LES ACTUALITÉS DE GRANDS FORMATS !

© 2020 Grands Formats

X

Présentation

Une fédération d'artistes engagés

Grands Formats est une fédération née en 2003 à l’initiative d’un groupe de chefs d’orchestre du jazz et des musiques improvisées et sa création résonne comme un manifeste. Ses membres l’expriment avec force : la musique en grand nécessite d’être totalement reconnue et soutenue, elle est un art singulier où la liberté et la créativité de chacun s’expriment pleinement et collectivement.

Les grands ensembles et les collectifs d’artistes sont des outils de création uniques, porteurs d’une histoire et d’un héritage artistique précieux, qui connait aujourd’hui de nombreux développements riches et variés. Ils constituent des lieux de vie où se confrontent les idées et où se transmettent les savoirs. Ils portent dans leur rapport à l’art et au monde, la prise de risque et l’imagination.

La fédération réunit aujourd’hui 90 membres, grands ensembles et collectifs d’artistes professionnel·le·s, français·es et européen·ne·s, représentatifs de l’extraordinaire diversité artistique du jazz et des musiques improvisées. Ils s’appuient, le plus souvent, sur leur propre structure de production, garante de leur autonomie et de leur indépendance artistique. Ils sont ainsi producteurs et engagés dans une multitude d’activités : résidences de création et de recherche, concerts, actions culturelles auprès de publics variés, production phonographique, organisation de festivals…

Ils sont au total plus de 1200 musicien·ne·s, porté·e·s par un irrésistible désir musical, réuni·e·s pour défendre l’existence et la pérennité de la musique en grande formation et permettre aux publics de vivre une expérience musicale hors-norme !

La fédération Grands Formats est un lieu de solidarité et de transmission, un outil d’observation ainsi qu’un espace de réflexion, de débat et de construction politique. Elle est force de proposition pour orienter le débat public sur la place de la musique vivante dans les instances nationales, locales et internationales.

Surnatural Orchestra
— Vivez l'expérience de la musique en grand !

Les missions de la fédération s’articulent autour des quatre axes suivants :

  • Mieux faire connaître et favoriser la diffusion de la musique en grande formation grâce à l’organisation de temps forts, la mise en place de partenariats et le développement d’une communication 360°,
  • Mettre en lumière le fonctionnement du secteur du jazz et des musiques improvisées et les problématiques des artistes et des équipes artistiques grâce à la réalisation régulière d’études et d’enquêtes,
  • Favoriser l’insertion professionnelle des jeunes musicien·ne·s grâce au développement d’actions auprès des étudiant·e·s,
  • Constituer une instance collégiale de représentation des artistes et participer à ce titre à la structuration du secteur musical dans sa diversité.

Conseil d’Administration de Grands Formats

Président : Frédéric Pallem
Vice-Président : Alexandre Herer
Trésorière : Tifenn Ezanno
Secrétaire : Arnaud Fièvre
Administrateur·rice·s : Pierre Bertrand, Gary Brunton, Sylvain Cathala, Pascal Charrier, Laurent Dehors, Camille Durand, Grégoire Letouvet, Frédéric Maurin, Christophe Rocher, Marie-Edith Roussillon, Alfred Vilayleck

Assemblée générale 2018
Grand Ensemble Koa à la Rentrée Grands Formats 2019

" Le nombre et la variété des ensembles qui constituent Grands Formats aujourd’hui sont le reflet de la vitalité du jazz contemporain et de la créativité d’artistes qui osent imaginer leur musique en grand. "Renaud Baillet, programmateur du Petit Faucheux à Tours

" De nombreux combats sont à mener et je me réjouis que, seul ou avec d’autres, Grands Formats soit là pour le faire dans le milieu du jazz et des musiques improvisées. Je ne prendrais que quelques exemples : la place des femmes dans le métier, la programmation du jazz sur les scènes publiques généralistes, l’accès aux aides publiques pour les grands ensembles, la viabilité économique des entreprises qui portent ces projets... "Philippe Gautier, président de la commission structuration et développement professionnel du CNM

" Grands Formats nous permet de faire entendre collectivement notre voix et de défendre ensemble une autre façon de faire de la musique que celle imposée par le rouleau compresseur de l’industrie. "Frédéric Maurin, directeur artistique de l’Orchestre National de Jazz

AG © Grands Formats – Surnatural Orchestra © Ludovic Laude – AG © Grands Formats – Grand Ensemble KOA © Bruce Milpied

SUIVEZ LES ACTUALITÉS DE GRANDS FORMATS !

© 2020 Grands Formats