Direction artistique: Artistic direction : Alfred Vilayleck
Effectif: Number : 9 musicians
Country : France
Place : Occitanie

Alfred Vilayleck : leadership, composition, bass
Matthieu Chédeville : soprano saxophone
Armel Courrée : alto saxophone
Jérôme Dufour : tenor saxophone
Pascal Bouvier : trombonist
Killian Rebreyend : vibraphone
Daniel Moreau : electric piano
Julien Grégoire : drums
Caroline Sentis : voice


La Tendresse,
80 impasse Flouch
34 070 Montpellier
+33 (0)4 67 58 27 48

© Didier Page

Grand Ensemble Koa is a large formation with atypical instrumentation and explosive character, it is 9 musicians, led by bassist/composer Alfred Vilayleck, who mix jazz and rock, pop and contemporary music, electric and acoustic, improvisation and writing in their own style.
With their new creation “Beat” (2016), the Montpellier jazz ensemble follows in the footsteps of Jack Kerouac, Allen Ginsberg and William Burroughs in the heart of the 1950s and the “Beat Generation”. Animated by the pulsations of the literary and intellectual movement seeking to free themselves from the conformism of American life, the 8 young virtuosos set to music the texts of these nonconformist poets, carried by the luminous voice of Caroline Sentis. A pursuit of freedom to think, dream and live while enjoying every moment…


No concerts.